Clinton County Auditor | Clinton County, Ohio

Tax Exempt Properties

Certain properties in Clinton County are eligible for Tax Exemption. Examples of properties in the county that are already exempt are:

  • Churches
  • Schools
  • Townships, Cities, and Villages
  • Non-Profit Organizations
  • County owned property
  • Public Parks
  • State owned property
  • Colleges
  • Graveyards
  • Hospitals

Community Reinvestment Areas (CRA)

The Ohio Community Reinvestment Area program is an economic development tool administered by municipal and county governments that provides real property tax exemptions for property owners who renovate existing or construct new buildings. This program permits municipalities or counties to designate areas where investment has been discouraged as a CRA to encourage revitalization of the existing housing stock and the development of new structures. Once an area is confirmed, communities may offer real property tax exemptions to taxpayers that invest in the area. If you have questions on the Community Reinvestment Area program, please contact the Ohio Department of Development's website at: https://development.ohio.gov/business/state-incentives/ohio-community-reinvestment-area

Tax Increment Financing (TIF)

Tax Increment Financing (TIF) is an economic development mechanism available to local governments in Ohio to finance public infrastructure improvements and, in certain circumstances, residential rehabilitation. TIFs are implemented at the local level and may be created by a township, municipality or county. While a TIF is an abatement, taxes are calculated the same as usual. The difference is how the money is distributed. The money is typically directed to the municipality. For information on the Tax Increment Financing program, you may visit the Ohio Development Services Agency’s website at: https://development.ohio.gov/business/state-incentives/tax-increment-financing